Forgiveness Practice

This life
has passed
physically easy
and emotionally
full of misery.

This may be
from the nature of emotions
which are suffering itself.

I can thank
my Mediterranean ancestors
for their overflowing passions.

Still, what’s here is here.

How much
have I involved my own
initiative, motivation, emotive energy
in actively perpetuating suffering
for myself and others ?

How do I begin the inquiry
into this dark morass of confusion
that obscures original innocence ?

Forgiveness is the solvent
dissolving the blocks to loving-kindness

Forgiveness is the unstoppable wave
that clears away
all obstacles.

How to practice ?

Eyes closed, sit relaxed.

I forgive myself
… for not understanding…
for making mistakes and errors…
for causing pain to myself or to others…
for not acting the way I should have acted.

I forgive another
… for not understanding…
for making mistakes and errors…
for causing pain to myself or to others…
for not acting the way they should have acted.

I hear and see and feel forgiveness toward myself
… for not understanding…
for making mistakes and errors…
for causing pain to myself or to others…
for not acting the way I should have acted.

Or you can use your own words.

Imagine looking yourself in the eyes while speaking.
Imagine looking the other in the eyes while speaking.
See/hear/feel forgiveness taking place.

Feel into the heart as you return
to a painful relationship or experience.

Is there any tension, tightness, hardness, resistance ?

More to practice.

Keep going.

I shall not be satisfied with anything
other than complete freedom
from the heavy baggage of the mind.

Why settle for anything less ?

Guide to Forgiveness Meditation by Bhante Vimalaramsi

Wire walker here.

About dominic724

A former seeker starts blogging.
This entry was posted in Human Experience and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.