promised land: stories from awakeville

the promised land
lacks nothing
filled with food, wine,
money, sex,
and wi-fi

the promised land
the grand reward
for those who persevere

overflowing
with the wanted
and the worth-its

the promised land
more real than real
MUST
hold no fault nor flaw

Eden-Paradise-Utopia
is like that
ideal
shiny
clean

at what cost
does one arrive?

what’s the bridge toll?
nothing real is free

turns out
the toll
weighs heavy on the mind

something
the rich
fail to mention

pretending
it never was
the eye of a needle

who is surprised?
what did I think?
how was I disappointed?

the free that’s worth having
and costs nothing
lives in fairy tales
and children’s movies

even a mother’s breast milk
readily given with love
costs the energy
of a baby’s cry

but you don’t understand-
you don’t see-
I’m losing my mind,
my nouns,
my treasured memory

sure, I want the Absolute
the All-That-Is
God’s Face
Nibanna

And I want to stay as I was-
comfortable
untroubled
unbothered

Dark nights are for others
stuttering over parts of speech
losing track of time
dissolving ambitions, projects, plans
those are for someone else

I’ll take the hand of the Infinite
as long
as it is convenient

if I don’t set
the terms, the time, the rules
then
why should I play
this silly game ?

_________________________________

stories from awakeville are chunks of free verse
derived from post awakening inner experience

About dominic724

A former seeker starts blogging.
This entry was posted in Poetry & Free Verse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.