The I is a Fool

The I is a Fool

Passing out shreds of advice like Halloween candy
Craving approbation, appreciation, approval
Surely now they see my wisdom
Since I finally see it too !
The I is a fool.

Ordering, arranging
Making tidy, staying busy
Just the right shoes
Not a hair out of place
The I is a fool.

These thoughts when I meditate
If I could just get them to stop
I need to get thoughts under control
So I can get enlightened.
The I is a fool.

I don’t believe in an old man with a beard in the sky.
I am very spiritual.
I am spiritual but not religious.
I believe in being a good person.
The I is a fool.

I planned the whole thing.
It was my idea.
I made it happen.
I’m all over it.
The I is a fool.

I would never act like that.
I would never do that to you.
I don’t treat people that way.
That’s not who I am.
The I is a liar, and a very big fool.

************************************************

First published on Vanishing Narrative, April Fool’s Day, 2012 : http://wp.me/p1O6AP-g7

The jester pic comes from here: http://fellowshipofminds.files.wordpress.com/2010/10/ist2_4129313-cartoon-court-jester1.jpg

For more along this line: http://skyeblaine.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/whats-in-it-for-me/

About dominic724

A former seeker starts blogging.
This entry was posted in Poetry & Free Verse and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

