The Day I Left For Good

How I loved looking at Avalokiteshvara !
standing attentively listening
a thousand eyes open to the suffering of the world;
but that’s not how I woke up.

Hundreds of hours of energy healing practices
extending the sense of touch
through chakras, organs and solid objects;
but that’s not how I woke up.

Many thousands of mantras
the speech of the Buddhas
chanted diligently, dutifully, determined;
but that’s not how I woke up.

Fasting regularly to develop discipline
and self control
and good health
patience too;
but that’s not how I woke up.

Reading hundreds of books
by authors with unpronounceable names
who made everyday experience sound exotic;
that’s definitely not how I woke up.

Attending empowerments
rituals, services
and blessings
could not have had
less to do
with how I woke up.

Bowing three times
before pictures of holy people
burning incense
or ringing bells;
that really had no part in how I woke up.

There is just one thing
that had any part to play
in how I woke up:
I left.
I left here for good.

I never did wake up.
Waking up just got tired
of following the I around.

Enough of this farce !
Said the awakeawarenothing
That had never been anywhere else

What a frabjous day !
That memorable day
the day I left for good.

Dedicated to people everywhere seeking truth, living truth,
falling into the bottomless expanse of truth.

May anyone who reads this awaken.

********************************************************************

Thanks to this site for the thangka photo:

http://www.thangka.ru/gallery/ge_avalokiteshvara.html

About dominic724

A former seeker starts blogging.
This entry was posted in No self, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Day I Left For Good

  1. Just loved this post! I know, all that stuff I used to do just fell away one day. Some friends still don’t understand. And that doesn’t matter.

  2. dadirri7 says:

    i used to do it all too … now i just hang out with whatever is happening … the rolling joy of being, the vast aliveness, contentment at seeing everything move/change … but i could not say i have left for good yet!

    • dominic724 says:

      Not yet.
      I may use that, the roller joy of being.
      I’ll write about it more in future posts – experience keeps changing, same as ever, but the backdrop of absence is stable.
      Thanks for your comment Christine.

  3. I LOVE THIS. Thank you, Dominic. That’s not how I woke up, either! What a coincidence, heh?
    Lisa

  4. tomkuoh says:

    Reblogged this on THOMAS KUOH and commented:
    Wow, read this, if you are ready, this will pop you.

    • dominic724 says:

      Thomas ! Nice to hear from you. Yes, I guessed a reblog when the little cascade of hits coming to an older post started. 😉 Am a regular proponent of reblogging. Love the comment. – d

  5. Shantideva says:

    So true… but a lot of us need to go through these hardships before being ready to unveil the truth. I went though it too and I surely recommend this to a lot of us. We are all so different in need and understanding. This is a good way if one does not get too much entangled in institutional rituals and behavior for the rest of one’s life. 😉 Sometimes a shortcut is not possible. At the end of the day it all points to truth… It is only a matter of not spending a too much time analysing the pointer but looking towards what it is pointing to.

Leave a Reply

